Warcraft The Beginning (2016)

Stars: Travis FimmelPaula PattonBen Foster Dominic CooperToby Kebbell

Director: Duncan Jones

I’ll start this like I do so many of my reviews by pointing something out.  I have never played Warcraft nor am I likely to having watched this movie.

That said, I went in with low expectations so to be as disappointed as I was when I came out takes some doing, especially as I’d taken advantage of a half price cinema ticket offer.  I was only £4.37 worse off and yet still disappointment reigned!

The main points of attraction to this, for me, were Duncan Jones as he gave us the immense Moon and Travis Fimmel who has made his name as Ragnor Lothbrok in the History Channel’s superb Vikings series.   By the end of the movie I was cursing both of them.  Jones for directing, if you could call it directing, this muddled story and Fimmel for just being Ragnor again.  There was no variation between the two roles. This is how people get type cast.  Give me something else Travis!

Here is the synopsis taken from the official website:

“The peaceful realm of Azeroth stands on the brink of war as its civilization faces a fearsome race of invaders: orc warriors fleeing their dying home to colonize another. As a portal opens to connect the two worlds, one army faces destruction and the other faces extinction. From opposing sides, two heroes are set on a collision course that will decide the fate of their family, their people, and their home.”

I don’t normally include this in my reviews, I prefer to give the reader my own take on the plot.  I felt, on this occasion, that I had to include it with this review because for large parts of Warcraft I had no idea what was going on.  Who wanted what, who was on who’s side and so on.  There was plenty of betrayal on display that much I do know.

www.buffed.de
http://www.buffed.de

What also spoiled the film for me was the effects, in some parts they were fairly decent but they really fell short quite often and I would suggest anyone who saw any of the Golan-Globus Cannon group productions of the eighties like Masters Of The Universe will know what I mean by second-rate special effects.  As a side point to this, several sequences that appeared in the trailer did not make it to the final cut and they seemed fairly key moments to have been cut.

A quick word about some of the other cast members; I like Dominic Cooper but I feel he was out-of-place here, he just didn’t have the air of a king about him and Ben Foster just couldn’t pull off the so-called Guardian. That was a role for someone with a bit more charisma and experience about them.

conversationsabouther.net
conversationsabouther.net

If fans of the game like muddled stories and second-rate effects next to substandard acting they’ll love it and I hear they do but the man who gave me the Moon just left a steaming pile of mess on my front step.

Verdict: 1/5 Stars – A mess of a movie

Warcraft The Beginning on IMDb

Official Website

Leave a Reply

